The Great Paint Debate

Actually, it isn’t really a great debate…it rhymed and gave my title a nice ring…plus it sounded kind of controversial!

The thing about this debate, it’s only going on in my head, it’s not with anyone in particular…just a heated discussion with myself. I’ve been thinking ahead to our new house and how I would like to decorate…starting with paint. Catch this, I’m thinking of going out on a limb and painting everything white! Not only because it’s hip and cool, but because I think I’m turning  lazy. Think of how easy my life would be if I only had to choose one paint colour!!

Photo courtesy of Lonny

However, me, myself and I aren’t totally convinced of this all white thing, hence the little debate in my head that sounds something like this:

Debater Lisa: White is where it’s at – everybody’s doing it

Rebutter Lisa: Really, like who? Who are these people? Do you have names? I want names.

Debater Lisa: White is daring, don’t you want to be daring?

Rebutter Lisa: Look, my life is one big dare…and while we’re on the subject isn’t white boring?

Debater Lisa: Oh contraire! Two words – colourful accessories. Change them when you’re bored, duh!

Rebutter Lisa: That could be often, I’m fickle

Debater Lisa: White is also warm, neutral, timeless and goes with everything

Rebutter Lisa: Are you sure? What if my white walls clash with my white furniture? What then?

Debater Lisa: You’re ridunkulous- it will simplify your life – less decisions

Rebutter Lisa: That I can agree with, even the ridunkulous part

Debater Lisa: Bottom line, it’s completely cool, and the right thing to do

Rebutter Lisa: That’s what you said about my last perm and we both know how that turned out!

Ending on what happened to my hair when I got a bad perm is no way to end an argument…period!

It’s true, this white phenomenon is starting to permeate through everything I own…white slipcovers, white bedding, white furniture…even the furniture I just bought, I’m planning on painting white…white white white…it’s all coming up white!

This makes my husband very nervous.

But the funny thing about paint is, white should be safe…I can think of million and one other colours that should make him very, very ,VERY afraid….but white isn’t one of them!

3 thoughts on “The Great Paint Debate

  1. HA! Here’s some ammo for Rebutter Lisa – white is actually the hardest color to match (according to the Lowe’s pros, anyway). But Debater would say that’s no problem – as long as you paint everything at the same time and save the paint! I actually would love to have all white stuff. My husband is the one who loves colors — I really have to rein him in! I have to agree that I think it would look tres fab…like that photo up there! I’m sure you could pull it off!

  2. I wondered about the white matching…see maybe I wasn’t ridunkulous! We’ll see if I have the guts to do it…I love colour also so it may be difficult for me to make the leap…but it does look so nice doesn’t it!

  3. Pingback: Wrestling With Wallpaper « The Passionate Eclectic

Leave a comment